Publication search

Search by collection
Display more fields
/fichier/s_rubrique/26874/couv_wargentin_1erplat_fond_contour.jpg

Naissance des sciences de la population

Les savants du royaume de Suède au XVIIIe siècle

Collection : Classiques de l’Économie et de la population

2017, 400 pages

Papier

n° ISBN 978-2-7332-1038-3

25,00 €

[The birth of population science: scientific scholars in the kingdom of Sweden in the eighteenth century, Pehr Willem Wargentin et al.]

Contents

Preface, Peter Sköld

Editors’ note

Nathalie Le Bouteillec and Jean-Marc Rohrbasser

Part I. The Age of Liberty, the time of the pioneers

1. A virtuous economy. The economic context in Sweden at the time of the Tabellverket, Lief Runefelte

2. Inception of the Tabellverket, Nathalie Le Bouteillec

3. The birth of population science in Sweden, Jean-Marc Rohrbasser

 Part II. Papers by Pehr Wargentin

I. From 1754 to 1755

II. The 7 papers written from 1767 to 1782

 Part III. Other writings published by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, 1743-1779

Pehr Elvius, Jacob Faggot, Gustaf Hedin, Peter Hjelm, Abraham Hülphers, Peter Högström, Elias Lagus, Carl Fredric Mennander, Pehr Osbeck, Edvard Fredric Runeberg, Erik Salander, Olof Strandberg, Jacob Turdfjäll and others

 Biographical sketches of the main scholars

 

[The birth of population science: scientific scholars in the kingdom of Sweden in the eighteenth century, Pehr Willem Wargentin et al.]

In eighteenth-century Sweden, a handful of impassioned and devoted scholars developed the first population counting tools. With the support of the state authorities, they created the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the world’s very first statistics institute.

These scholars, the most prolific of whom was Pehr Wargentin, undertook pioneering studies in demography and statistics over several decades. Sweden was the first country to attempt to document its population statistically over the long term. Its data collection methods were also pathbreaking, and are considered the forerunners of our modern population censuses.

Using these innovative tools, Wargentin drew up the world’s first mortality tables. He was also a great visionary, inventing the very first models of the population pyramid and household unit, and he was the first thinker to analyse the seasonality of births and the importance of migration.

The book retraces this extraordinary scientific adventure, presenting for the first time in French a series of papers by these Swedish scholars, and in so doing making a significant contribution to the history of population sciences. It offers a detailed introduction on the historical context, stressing not only the scholars’ scientific role but also their political weight, and restoring to them their rightful place in history of the sciences, alongside such renowned colleagues as Halley, Linné and Celsius.

 

Nathalie Le Bouteillec is a researcher at the Faculty of philosophy and human and social sciences of the University of Picardie Jules Verne and associated researcher at INED. She specializes in Northern European family policy, the socio-history of maternity policy, and history and comparison of welfare states.

Jean-Marc Rohrbasser is an INED researcher specializing in history of demographic facts and concepts, history of demography statistics, and financial calculus.

Leif Runefelt is a senior lecturer at the School of Historical and Contemporary Studies of the University of Stockholm. Trained as an economist, he studies interactions between people and economic doctrines in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.

Peter Sköld, who prefaced the book, is a Swedish historian and demographer. He directs the Arctic Research Center of the University of Umeå and specializes in historical demography and the demographic transition in Northern European countries.

On the same topic

Rechercher une publication

Recherche par collection
Afficher plus de champs
/fichier/s_rubrique/26874/couv_wargentin_1erplat_fond_contour.jpg

Naissance des sciences de la population

Les savants du royaume de Suède au XVIIIe siècle

Collection : Classiques de l’Économie
et de la Population

2017, 400 pages

n° ISBN 978-2-7332-1038-3

25,00 €

Préface de Peter Sköld

Note des éditeurs
Nathalie Le Bouteillec et Jean-Marc Rohrbasser

Première partie. L’ère des libertés, le temps des pionniers
1. Une économie vertueuse. Le contexte économique suédois à l’époque du Tabellverket,
Leif Runefelt
2. La genèse du Tabellverket,
Nathalie Le Bouteillec
3. La naissance de la science de la population en Suède,
Jean-Marc Rohrbasser

Deuxième partie. Les mémoires de Pehr Wargentin
I. Les mémoires de 1754-1752.
II. Les 7 mémoires de 1766 à 1782.

Troisième partie. Autres écrits publiés par l’Académie Royale des Sciences (1743-1779)
Pehr Elvius, Jacob Faggot, Gustaf Hedin Peter Hjelm, Abraham Hülphers, Pehr Högström, Elias Lagus, Carl Fredric Mennander, Pehr Osbeck, Edvard Fredric Runeberg, Eric Salander, Olof Strandberg, Jacob Turdfjäll…

Notices biographiques des principaux savants

En Suède au XVIIIe siècle, une poignée de savants passionnés mirent au point les premiers outils de comptage de la population. Encouragés par le pouvoir en place, ils créèrent l’Académie royale des sciences, et le tout premier institut de statistique au monde.

Ces savants enthousiastes, et le plus prolifique d’entre eux, Pehr Wargentin, menèrent durant plusieurs décennies des travaux pionniers en matière de démographie et de statistiques. La Suède fut en effet le tout premier pays ayant ambitionné de dresser le tableau de toute sa population sur le long terme. Elle est aussi pionnière en matière de collecte des données, ancêtre des futurs recensements.

À partir de ces outils novateurs, Wargentin établit les toutes premières tables de mortalité, mais fut aussi un grand visionnaire. Il imagina les tous premiers modèles, toujours utilisés en démographie, de la pyramide des âges, ou de l’unité du ménage, fut le premier à analyser la saisonnalité des naissances et l’importance des migrations…

L’ouvrage retrace cette formidable aventure à travers une série de mémoires jamais traduits en français, apportant ainsi une contribution essentielle à l’histoire des sciences de la population. Une riche introduction complète cet apport en le replaçant à la fois dans son contexte historique et en insistant sur le rôle non seulement scientifique de ces savants, mais également sur leur poids politique. Quelque peu occultés par leurs célèbres collègues Halley, Linné ou Celsius dans l’histoire des sciences, ces savants méconnus retrouvent ici la place qui leur est due.

Nathalie Le Bouteillec est chercheuse à l’Université de Picardie Jules Verne (Faculté de philosophie et sciences humaines et sociales) et chercheuse associée à l’Ined, spécialiste des politiques familiales en Europe du Nord, en socio-histoire des politiques de la maternité et en histoire et comparaison des États-providence.
Jean-Marc Rohrbasser est chercheur à l’Ined, spécialisé dans l’histoire des faits et des concepts démographiques, l’histoire de la statistique démographique et du calcul financier.
Leif Runefelt est maître de conférences à l’université de Stockholm dans le département d’Études historiques. Économiste de formation, il a étudié les interactions entre l’homme et la doctrine économique aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles.
Peter Sköld, préfacier de l’ouvrage, est historien et démographe suédois. Il est le directeur du Arctic Research Centre de l’université d’Umeå, spécialiste de démographie historique et de la transition démographique des pays d’Europe du Nord.

Sur le même thème