Publication search

Search by collection
Display more fields
Population 2014, n° 2
/fichier/s_rubrique/21471/picto.pope2.2014.jpg

Population 2014, n° 2

2014

N° ISBN 978-2-7332-01787

20,00 €

Articles 

Inconsistencies in the Number of Children Reported in Successive Waves of the French Generations and Gender Survey - Arnaud Régnier-Loilier

  • Comparing the Rate of Individual Senescence Across Time and Space - Giambattista Salinari, Gustavo De Santis
  • The TRA Survey, a Historical Matrix - Jérôme Bourdieu, Lionel Kesztenbaum, Gilles Postel-Vinay
  • Sibship Sizes and Family Sizes in Survey Data Used to Estimate Mortality - Bruno Masquelier

Short paper

Decomposition of Trends in Non-Marital Childbearing in Poland  - Anna Baranowska-Rataj

Book Reviews

 

Inconsistencies in the Number of Children Reported in Successive Waves of the French Generations and Gender Survey

Arnaud Régnier-Loilier

The ERFI survey (Étude des relations familiales et intergénérationnelles) is the French version of the international Generations and Gender Survey. The same respondents were interviewed three times, in 2005, 2008 and 2011. Although the survey was designed to avoid redundant questions from one wave to the next, a respondent’s family situation is likely to change over time. In each wave respondents were therefore asked about their children living in the dwelling, those living elsewhere and those deceased. The results of these separate questionnaire modules were then summed to give the total number of children (no direct question about the total was included). Substantial under-reporting of children in Waves 2 and 3 of the French survey was observed. This article aims to measure the extent of the omissions in order to alert potential users of the data, to identify which children “disappear” and establish whether this corresponds to particular respondent profiles. More broadly, the study calls into question the method of summing the children recorded in various parts of the same questionnaire in order to determine the respondent’s total number of children, and suggests that similar verifications should be made in other GGS surveys. 

Comparing the Rate of Individual Senescence Across Time and Space

Giambattista Salinari, Gustavo De Santis

At adult ages x, the force of mortality increases more or less exponentially with age, and the parameter associated with age, β, can be used to gauge the rate of senescence (ageing) of a generation. The hypothesis has recently been advanced that the rate of senescence at the individual level may be a biological constant, not far from 0.1. This article contributes to this discussion in two ways: first, it proposes a simple method based on standard longitudinal panel data analysis to compare the rate of senescence β between different cohorts and groups when frailty and period effects operate, and, secondly, it offers a few empirical estimates of β, by gender, for various cohorts, in different countries. The proposed methodology is applied to data taken from the Human Mortality Database for selected birth cohorts (Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden, and Switzerland), born between 1878 and 1912, observed at ages 65 to 98, in the calendar years 1943 to 2010. The rate of senescence β appears indeed to be close to 0.1: most of the differences that emerge from the analysis (by country, gender, birth cohort or age), although statistically significant, are very small in absolute terms, especially for women.

The TRA Survey, a Historical Matrix

Jérôme Bourdieu, Lionel Kesztenbaum, Gilles Postel-Vinay

The TRA project is a unique research approach based on the nationwide collection of historical individual-level data on the personal, occupational and economic situation of people having married or died between the early nineteenth century and the mid-twentieth century. Coinciding with the release of the first part of the data produced by the project, this article looks at the project’s founding principles and sources before going on to assess its geographical and temporal representativeness. Taking as an example the trend in the proportion of individuals leaving no wealth behind when they die, as established using the database, a tool such as this provides an interesting basis for writing an economic history that is both micro- and macro-social. Our analysis then shows how the approach adopted for the TRA project can be extended to any new individual-level data. This is the very principle and purpose of the TRA project, which, far from being closed, is a matrix for studying the transformations that have affected French society and many other societies over the last two centuries.

Sibship Sizes and Family Sizes in Survey Data Used to Estimate Mortality

Bruno Masquelier

Survey data on sibling survival provide a crucial source of information for estimating adult mortality in countries where vital records are incomplete. This article assesses the quality of these data by comparing sibship sizes reported in Demographic and Health Surveys with women’s mean number of children ever born in the previous generation. This comparison, conducted at aggregate level, suggests that a high proportion of siblings are omitted, since the sibship sizes are 15% lower, on average, than would be expected on the basis of number of children ever born. Such omissions are more frequent in sub-Saharan Africa than in other developing regions, and their extent increases slightly with the respondents’ age. Adult mortality deduced from these data is not necessarily underestimated, however, since omissions appear to mainly concern siblings who died in childhood.

Decomposition of Trends in Non-Marital Childbearing in Poland

Anna Baranowska-Rataj

The aim of this paper is to decompose the increase in the share of out-of-wedlock births in Poland into two components: one attributed to the changing structure of births based on marital status at conception, and one related to the declining propensity for shotgun weddings. Analysis of data from the Birth Register 1985-2009 shows that a decline in the propensity to marry among single pregnant women played an important role in the diffusion of non-marital childbearing, especially in the last decade. In urban areas, the impact of the declining propensity for shotgun weddings was greater than in rural areas. This is consistent with the notion that rural areas are a more traditional context for family formation. It seems that in villages, social pressure still inhibits the diversification of family forms more strongly than in cities.

Rechercher une publication

Recherche par collection
Afficher plus de champs
Population 2014, n° 2
/fichier/s_rubrique/21471/picto.popf2.2014b.jpg

Population 2014, n° 2

2014

N° ISBN 978-2-7332-01787

20,00 €

Articles :

Incohérence du nombre d’enfants déclarés entre les vagues de l’enquête française Generations and Gender Survey - Arnaud Régnier-Loilier

  • Comparaison des taux de sénescence dans le temps et l’espace - Giambattista Salinari, Gustavo De Santis
  • L’enquête TRA, une matrice d’histoire - Jérôme Bourdieu, Lionel Kesztenbaum, Gilles Postel-Vinay
  • Tailles des fratries et tailles des familles dans les données d’enquêtes utilisées pour estimer la mortalité - Bruno Masquelier


Note de recherche

Décomposition des tendances de la fécondité hors mariage en Pologne - Anna Baranowska-Rataj


Bibliographie critique

Incohérence du nombre d’enfants déclarés entre les vagues de l’enquête française Generations and Gender Survey

Arnaud Régnier-Loilier

L’enquête Erfi (Étude des relations familiales et intergénérationnelles) est la déclinaison française de l’enquête internationale et longitudinale GGS (Generations and Gender Survey). Les mêmes personnes ont été interrogées à trois reprises, en 2005, 2008 et 2011. Si l’enquête est conçue de façon à éviter une redondance du questionnement d’une vague à l’autre, la situation familiale de la personne est susceptible d’évoluer au cours du temps. On décrit ainsi à chaque vague les enfants du répondant vivant dans son logement, ceux qui résident ailleurs et les enfants décédés. De ces différents modules du questionnaire est déduit par addition le nombre total d’enfants (aucune question directe sur le nombre total d’enfants du répondant n’est prévue). Un important phénomène de sous-déclaration des enfants est mis à jour lors des vagues 2 et 3 de l’enquête française. L’objectif de cet article est de mesurer l’ampleur des omissions afin d’avertir les utilisateurs potentiels des données, de repérer quels enfants « disparaissent » et de voir si cela correspond à des profils de répondants spécifiques. Cette étude interroge plus généralement la méthode du décompte des enfants décrit dans différentes parties d’un même questionnaire pour déterminer le nombre total d’enfants d’une personne et invite à procéder à des vérifications analogues dans les autres enquêtes GGS.

Cet article est en téléchargement depuis le sommaire.

Comparaison des taux de sénescence dans le temps et l’espace

Giambattista Salinari, Gustavo De Santis

Aux âges adultes, la force de mortalité s’accroît de façon plus ou moins exponentielle avec l’âge, et le paramètre associé à l’âge, β, permet d’évaluer le taux de sénescence (vieillissement) d’une génération. L’hypothèse a été récemment avancée que le taux de sénescence au niveau individuel serait une constante biologique, proche de 0,1. Cet article contribue au débat de deux façons : il propose d’abord une méthode simple fondée sur une analyse classique des données de panel longitudinal, afin de comparer le taux de sénescence β entre différentes cohortes et différents groupes où jouent des effets de fragilité et de période, et il présente ensuite quelques estimations empiriques de β, par sexe, pour diverses cohortes, dans différents pays. La méthodologie proposée est appliquée aux données de la Human Mortality Database pour les générations nées entre 1878 et 1912 (Danemark, Finlande, Norvège, Suède et Suisse), observées entre 65 et 98 ans de 1943 à 2010. Le taux de sénescence β apparaît effectivement proche de 0,1 : la plupart des écarts qui ressortent de l’analyse (par pays, sexe, génération et âge) sont très faibles en termes absolus, en particulier pour les femmes, même s’ils sont statistiquement significatifs.

L’enquête TRA , une matrice d’histoire

Jérôme Bourdieu, Lionel Kesztenbaum, Gilles Postel-Vinay

L’enquête TRA constitue un dispositif de recherche unique fondé sur la collecte nominative à l’échelle nationale de données historiques décrivant la situation personnelle, professionnelle et économique d’individus mariés ou décédés entre le début du XIXe siècle et le milieu du XXe siècle. À l’occasion de la mise à disposition de la première partie des données produites par l’enquête, cet article présente les principes et les sources à partir desquelles elle a été construite, puis l’évaluation de sa représentativité dans l’espace et au cours du temps. En prenant pour exemple l’évolution de la part des individus qui décèdent sans aucune richesse telle qu’elle peut être construite grâce à cette base, il est intéressant de disposer d’un tel outil pour écrire une histoire économique qui soit de manière indissociable micro et macrosociale. Enfin, l’analyse montre comment le dispositif proposé par l’enquête TRA peut être étendu à toute nouvelle source nominative. C’est le principe et la vocation de cette enquête qui, loin d’être close, est une matrice pour étudier les transformations qui affectent pendant deux siècles la société française et, plus largement, bien d’autres sociétés.

Taille des fratries et taille des familles dans les données d’enquêtes utilisées pour estimer la mortalité

Bruno Masquelier

Les données d’enquêtes recueillies sur la survie des frères et soeurs constituent une source incontournable pour estimer la mortalité des adultes dans les pays où l’état civil reste incomplet. Cet article évalue la qualité de ces données en comparant la taille des fratries déclarées dans les enquêtes démographiques et de santé avec le nombre moyen d’enfants nés vivants des femmes de la génération précédente. Cette comparaison, menée au niveau agrégé, suggère qu’une proportion élevée de frères et soeurs sont omis ; les tailles de fratries sont inférieures de 15 % environ aux tailles attendues sur la base des enfants nés vivants. Ces omissions sont plus fréquentes en Afrique subsaharienne que dans les autres régions en développement et leur ampleur augmente légèrement avec l’âge des enquêtées. La mortalité aux âges adultes déduite de ces données n’est pas pour autant sous-estimée, car les omissions semblent surtout concerner des frères et soeurs décédés dans l’enfance.

Décomposition des tendances de la fécondité hors mariage en Pologne

Anna Baranowska-Rataj

L’objectif de cette note de recherche est de dissocier les deux composantes de l’accroissement de la fréquence des naissances hors mariage en Pologne : l’une attribuée à l’évolution de la répartition des naissances selon la situation conjugale de la mère au moment de la conception, l’autre liée au recul des mariages précipités. L’analyse des données des registres des naissances de 1985 à 2009 montre que la diminution des mariages chez les femmes célibataires enceintes a joué un rôle important dans l’augmentation de la fécondité hors mariage, particulièrement pendant la dernière décennie. L’effet de la diminution des mariages de régularisation a été plus marqué en milieu urbain que dans les régions rurales. Ceci concorde avec l’idée que le milieu rural constitue un environnement plus traditionnel pour la formation de la famille où il semble que la pression sociale freine encore la diversification des formes de vie familiale, ce qui est moins le cas en ville.