Publication search

Search by collection
Display more fields
Population 2017, n°3
/fichier/s_rubrique/26983/picto_2017_pop3_e.jpg

Population 2017, n°3

2017, 185 pages

20,00 €

 Sectors of Activity and Occupations of Gay and Lesbian Couples: A Smaller Gender Divide

Wilfried Rault

At the Intersection of Gender and National Origin: The Career Trajectories of Selected Immigrants in Quebec

Julie Lacroix, Alain Gagnon, Vincent Lortie

Biological Effects of First Birth Postponement and Assisted Reproductive Technology on Completed Fertility

Henri Leridon

The Onset of Fertility Transition in Central Asia

Thomas Spoorenberg

Spatial Patterns and Determinants of Fertility in India

Abhishek Singh, Kaushalendra Kumar, Praveen Kumar Pathak, Rajesh Kumar Chauhan, Adrita Banerjee

Book reviews

 Sectors of Activity and Occupations of Gay and Lesbian Couples: A Smaller Gender Divide

Wilfried Rault
Despite an increase in research on homosexuality in recent decades, it is still difficult to socially characterize gay and lesbian populations using general population surveys. It is rarely possible to obtain a sample of sufficient size that is representative of the general population, along with the appropriate indicators of homosexuality and social status that are required for such an analysis. This article proposes a novel approach based on data from the Family and Housing survey carried out by INSEE in 2011. For the first time in France, this survey enabled us to implement this approach by studying individuals who report being “in a union”. Our analysis highlights the high levels of education among women and men in same-sex unions, as well as the specific features of their occupational profiles. Gays and lesbians are more present in the higher occupational categories, are over-represented in sectors characterized by equal numbers of men and women and are less present in highly gender-segregated categories that are numerically dominated by their own sex. In this regard,
individuals in same-sex unions are less influenced by gender norms.

 At the Intersection of Gender and National Origin: The Career Trajectories of Selected Immigrants in Quebec

Julie Lacroix, Alain Gagnon, Vincent Lortie
Differences between immigrants and natives in access to employment are closely linked to national origin and gender. While the disadvantage of non-Western immigrant men is often explained in terms of discrimination and the transferability of human capital, that of immigrant women is typically explained in cultural terms, on the assumption that women’s labour market participation reflects gender roles in their region of origin. Using survey data on selected workers in Quebec, we examine the relationship between national origin and gender in immigrants’ speed of access to employment. The sample consists exclusively of principal applicants from the category of skilled workers in Quebec. Factors linked to “cultural barriers”, which are thought to restrict women’s access to employment, are thus neutralized in the analysis of the different groups, which all consist of individuals selected to enter the labour market. Cox models with interactions show that the effect of immigrants’ gender is combined with that of their national origin, and reveal gender differences in access to a first job which are principally modulated by language skills. In contrast, individuals’ access to a job corresponding to their level of education differs by national origin and is independent of gender.

Biological Effects of First Birth Postponement and Assisted Reproductive Technology on Completed Fertility

Henri Leridon
Fertility trends in European countries since the 1960s have been characterized by a notable decline in the completed fertility of successive cohorts (with an even greater decrease in the total fertility rate) and a rapid rise in age at first birth, of around 3-4 years over three decades. At the same time, recourse to assisted reproductive technology (ART) has increased substantially. One might thus assume that this is indicative of growing difficulties in conceiving, which could – at least in part – result from couples’ desire to postpone family formation. To evaluate the purely biological impact of birth postponement, and the potential catch-up made possible by ART, we used a microsimulation model that takes a large number of both biological and behavioural parameters into account. Our simulations show that the biological effect on completed fertility of the 3-4 year postponement of the first birth is quite limited, at between 0.1 and 0.2 children. Recourse to ART makes up for only a small part of this reduction, 10% at most.

The Onset of Fertility Transition in Central Asia

Thomas Spoorenberg
This article investigates the implications for the onset of fertility transition of the establishment of socialism in the late 1920s in Central Asia. The fertility levels and trends in the five Central Asian Soviet republics are reconstructed using as many sources and methods as possible. The rapid change and progress that unfolded from the 1930s in the region were followed by an impressive rise in fertility. Interestingly, the fertility increase was circumscribed to women of the indigenous ethnic groups, whereas the fertility of women of European origin remained stable. The case of the Soviet republics of Central Asia illustrates that development may remove a series of biological and behavioural checks upon women’s reproduction, thereby increasing fertility. The study shows the need to reconstruct long-term demographic trends in developing countries in order to revisit their demographic transition and increase our understanding of the global process of the fertility transition.

Spatial Patterns and Determinants of Fertility in India

Abhishek Singh, Kaushalendra Kumar, Praveen Kumar Pathak, Rajesh Kumar Chauhan, Adrita Banerjee
This article examines the spatial patterns of fertility in India and its determinants using data from the 2011 Indian Census and round 3 of the District Level Household Survey conducted in India in 2007-08. We estimated all the independent variables and the dependent variable for each of the 640 districts of India as defined for the 2011 Indian Census. Moran’s I, univariate and bivariate LISA, ordinary least squares (OLS) and two-stage least squares were used to analyse the data, and spatial error and two-stage spatial regression models were applied to account for the effects of spatial clustering. The four statistical models reveal different relationships between childlessness and fertility across districts and regions. A statistical association between son preference and fertility is also observed. Our findings demonstrate the importance of using spatial econometric models to analyse the determinants of fertility at district or lower levels.

Rechercher une publication

Recherche par collection
Afficher plus de champs
Population 2017, n°3
/fichier/s_rubrique/26983/picto.popf_3_2017.jpg

Population 2017, n°3

2017, 185 pages

20,00 €

Secteurs d’activités et professions des gays et des lesbiennes en couple : des positions moins genrées

Wilfried Rault

 À l’intersection du genre et de l’origine nationale : quels sont les parcours professionnels des immigrants sélectionnés au Québec ?

Julie Lacroix, Alain Gagnon, Vincent Lortie

 Effets biologiques du retard à la première maternité et du recours à l’aide médicale à la procréation sur la descendance finale

Henri Leridon

Le début de la transition de la fécondité en Asie centrale

Thomas Spoorenberg

La structure spatiale de la fécondité indienne et ses déterminants

Abhishek Singh, Kaushalendra Kumar, Praveen Kumar Pathak, Rajesh Kumar Chauhan, Adrita Banerjee

Bibliographie critique

Secteurs d’activités et professions des gays et des lesbiennes en couple : des positions moins genrées

Wilfried Rault
Malgré un essor des recherches sur les homosexualités ces dernières décennies, il demeure difficile de caractériser socialement les populations gaies et lesbiennes à partir d’enquêtes réalisées en population générale. Des effectifs suffisants, un échantillon représentatif de la population générale et des indicateurs d’homosexualité et de situations sociales adéquats sont des conditions rarement réunies pour permettre une telle analyse. L’article propose une approche inédite grâce à l’enquête Famille et logements, réalisée en 2011 par l’Insee qui permet, pour la première fois en France, de mettre en oeuvre cette démarche à partir de l’étude des personnes qui déclarent « être en couple ». L’analyse met en évidence un niveau de diplôme élevé des femmes et des hommes qui sont en couple de même sexe, ainsi qu’une relative spécificité de leurs positions professionnelles. Plus présents dans les catégories supérieures de la nomenclature des PCS, les gays et les lesbiennes sont surreprésentés dans les secteurs et PCS mixtes et moins présents dans les catégories très ségréguées et dominées numériquement par leur sexe. De ce point de vue, les personnes en couple de même sexe sont plus distantes des normes de genre.

 À l’intersection du genre et de l’origine nationale : quels sont les parcours professionnels des immigrants sélectionnés au Québec ?

Julie Lacroix, Alain Gagnon, Vincent Lortie
Les différences d’insertion dans l’emploi entre immigrés et natifs sont étroitement liées à l’origine nationale et au genre. Alors que le désavantage des hommes immigrés non occidentaux est souvent expliqué en termes de discrimination et de transférabilité du capital humain, celui des femmes immigrées repose plutôt sur un argumentaire culturel, selon lequel la participation des femmes au marché du travail serait le reflet des rôles de genre dans la région d’origine. En utilisant les données d’enquête sur les travailleurs sélectionnés au Québec, nous examinons la rapidité avec laquelle les immigrés accèdent à l’emploi selon la nationalité et le genre. Ces derniers sont tous des requérants principaux de la catégorie des travailleurs qualifiés au Québec. Les facteurs liés aux « barrières culturelles », censés freiner l’accès des femmes à l’emploi, sont ainsi neutralisés dans l’analyse des différents groupes se destinant au marché du travail. Des modèles de Cox avec interactions montrent que l’effet de genre se juxtapose à celui de l’origine nationale des immigrés et révèlent des différences de genre
pour l’accès au premier emploi, qui sont principalement modulées par les connaissances linguistiques. Au contraire, l’accès à un emploi conforme au niveau d’éducation diffère selon l’origine nationale, indépendamment du genre.

 Effets biologiques du retard à la première maternité et du recours à l’aide médicale à la procréation sur la descendance finale

Henri Leridon
L’évolution de la fécondité dans les pays européens depuis les années 1960 a été marquée par une baisse notable de la descendance finale des générations (plus encore de l’indicateur conjoncturel) et une élévation rapide de l’âge à la première maternité, en général de 3 à 4 ans en une trentaine d’années. Dans le même temps, le recours aux méthodes d’aide médicale à la procréation (AMP) a fortement augmenté. On pourrait donc penser que cette dernière évolution est révélatrice de difficultés croissantes à concevoir, lesquelles pourraient – au moins en partie – résulter du retard dans le calendrier des naissances souhaité par les couples. Pour évaluer l’impact purement biologique du retard dans le calendrier des naissances, et le rattrapage éventuel par les méthodes d’AMP, nous utilisons un modèle de microsimulation, permettant de prendre en compte un grand nombre de paramètres, biologiques et comportementaux. Ces simulations montrent que l’effet biologique du report de 3 à 4 ans de la première naissance sur la descendance finale a été assez limité : entre 0,1 et 0,2 enfant. Quant au recours à l’AMP, il n’a compensé qu’une faible partie de cette diminution, au mieux 10 %.

Le début de la transition de la fécondité en Asie centrale

Thomas Spoorenberg
Cet article étudie l’impact de l’établissement du socialisme à la fin des années 1920 sur le début de la transition de la fécondité en Asie centrale. Les niveaux et tendances de la fécondité des cinq républiques soviétiques d’Asie centrale sont reconstruits en utilisant autant de sources et de méthodes que possible. Les changements et les progrès rapides qui se sont produits à partir des années 1930 dans cette région ont été suivis par une hausse marquée de la fécondité. De manière intéressante, cette augmentation de la fécondité a été circonscrite aux femmes des groupes ethniques autochtones, tandis que la fécondité des femmes d’origine européenne restait stable. Le cas des républiques soviétiques d’Asie centrale permet de voir comment le développement économique et social peut contribuer à éliminer une série d’obstacles biologiques et comportementaux à la reproduction et ainsi stimuler la fécondité. L’étude montre la nécessité de reconstituer l’évolution démographique de long terme dans les pays en développement afin de réexaminer leur transition démographique et de renforcer notre capacité à comprendre le processus de transition de la fécondité à l’échelle mondiale.

La structure spatiale de la fécondité indienne et ses déterminants

Abhishek Singh, Kaushalendra Kumar, Praveen Kumar Pathak, Rajesh Kumar Chauhan, Adrita Banerjee
Cette recherche a pour objectif d’examiner les structures spatiales de la fécondité en Inde et ses déterminants. Nous avons utilisé les données du recensement indien de 2011 et celles de la troisième phase de l’Enquête auprès des ménages au niveau des districts (District Level Household Survey) menée en Inde en 2007-2008. Les variables dépendante et indépendantes sont définies au niveau de chacun des 640 districts composant le territoire indien, conformément au découpage du recensement de 2011. Pour analyser ces données, nous avons recours à l’indice I de Moran, aux indices LISA univarié et bivarié, à la méthode des moindres carrés ordinaires (MCO) et aux doubles moindres carrés, ainsi qu’à des modèles à terme d’erreur spatiale pour tenir compte des effets de concentration spatiale. Les quatre modèles statistiques ont mis en évidence des relations différentes entre le niveau d’infécondité et le niveau de fécondité selon les districts et les régions. On observe également une association positive entre la préférence pour les garçons à la naissance et la fécondité. Nos résultats montrent l’intérêt des modèles économétriques tenant compte de ces différences spatiales à une échelle géographique fine pour l’analyse des déterminants de la fécondité.